History and Development of the Faculty of Medicine UNTAR

Tarumanagara University’s Faculty of Medicine was “born” on october 1st year 1965, but the idea was first discussed at 1954 by Bayumi Wahab, a member of Perhimpunan Sosial Tjandra Naya (was known as Sin Ming Hui). The foundation of the idea was the success of the building of Sumber Waras Hospital at Jalan Kyai Tapa at an 8 acre field on 1954.

It was already in the minds of The Founding Fathers, that eventually, the hospital would need young, tough, and capable physicians to replace their seniors, while also becoming a trustworthy successor of the Tjandra Naya Social Association on medical field.

The first step was forming the founding committee which consists of : Prof. Dr. Slamet Muljana (The chancellor of Tarumanagara University at that time), Bajumi Wahab, Dr. Lie Ging Tjwan (Dr. L. Gito Husodo), Drs. Kwee Hwat Djien, Khoe Woen Sioe, Tan Kwie Seng, R. Budi Setiawan, and Didik Salamun.

Finally, on october 1st 1965, the Faculty of Medicine of Tarumanagara University was established with the first dean, Dr. R Pringadi Gonggoputro (former general secretary of Indonesia Health Ministry), vice dean I, Dr. R. Soewarno, vice dean II, Prof. Dr. T. Karimoeddin, MPH, and secretary, dr. L Gito Husodo.

Since then, the Faculty of Medicine of Tarumanagara University was led by seven deans, which was :

  • Late dr. R. Pringadi Gonggoputro
  • Late dr. Soewarno
  • Late Prof. dr. W.A.F.J. Tumbelaka, Sp.A
  • dr. Vivien Wahjuni Hadiprodjo, MM
  • Late dr Samsi Jacobalis, Sp.B, FRACMA, FAHCE
  • dr Tom Surjadi, MPH, and
  • Dr. dr. Bambang Sutrisna, MHSc(Epid).